Jagjit Singh

Maharashtra, Jharkhand, Karnataka & MP Assemblies Set To Witness Stormy Winter Session From Today

 While Congress will bring a No-Confidence motion in MP, the Opposition BJP plans to bring the alleged mining scam and other issues for discussion on the floor in Jharkhand.

Here’s Why 

Maharashtra Assembly Session 

The Maharashtra assembly session is likely to be dominated by the outrage over remarks of Governor Koshyari on Shivaji Maharaj and the ongoing border issue with Karnataka. 

Maharashtra Governor Koshyari recently said that Shivaji Maharaj was a “hero of the past”, which erupted a controversy in political arenas.

Reacting to his comments, the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) and other parties took out a massive Halla Bol morcha in Mumbai on Saturday against the Eknath Shinde-BJP alliance government demanding Koshyari’s removal. 

On the Karnataka border issue, the leader of opposition in the state assembly, Ajit Pawar, has demanded that recent talks of chief ministers of both states with Union Home Minister Amit Shah be made public. 

 Karnataka Assembly Session 

The winter session of the Karnataka assembly comes around five months before the state goes for polls. The session will be held in Belagavi and is expected to see intense rounds of discussion on various issues. 

The ongoing border dispute with Maharashtra is likely to mark the first day of the sitting while the Opposition may try to corner the Bommai government on matters like scams in various departments and voter data theft scandal among others.  

Mangaluru cooker blast, "anti-Hindu," remarks, and the BJP government's decision to hike reservation for SCs from 15 percent to 17 percent and STs from 3 percent to 7 percent are likely to be matters of contention between the government and the Opposition. 

Madhya Pradesh Assembly 

The opposition Congress in Madhya Pradesh will bring a no-confidence motion against the Shivraj Singh Chouhan government during the winter session of the Assembly beginning Monday, PTI quoted a senior leader as saying. 

In a statement released by Congress, the party said, "MP Congress president Kamal Nath told MLAs at his residence on Sunday a no-confidence motion will be brought against the BJP government, "which has failed on every front". 

According to PTI, Congress had already submitted a notice to the Assembly secretariat to bring a no-confidence motion. 

In the 230-member House, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has 127 MLAs and the Congress 96. 

The five-day winter session will conclude on Friday, December 23. 

Jharkhand Assembly 

The five-day winter session of Jharkhand Assembly, beginning on Monday, is also set to see a heated face-off between the ruling Soren government and the Opposition. Separate meetings were held to chalk out the strategies on Sunday.

While the BJP plans to corner the government on the alleged mining scam, the recruitment policy, which was scrapped by the Jharkhand High Court, and the 1932 Khatiyan-based domicile policy. 

Sahibganj murder, in which a man allegedly chopped his wife into pieces, could also be brought up on the floor for debate. 

With the winter session of the Jharkhand Assembly beginning on Monday, the ruling and opposition parties held separate meetings here on Sunday to chalk out strategies. 

The five-day session, which will conclude on December 23, is likely to be stormy with the BJP-led Opposition deciding to corner the government over a slew of issues, mainly corruption, law and order, and recruitment policy. 

However, the ruling alliance of JMM, Congress, and RJD is, confident of giving befitting replies to the Opposition’s questions in the House. 

Gujarat Assembly Session 

The newly-elected MLAs of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly will take oath on the first day of the two-day session. 

 An official, according to PTI, said that the elections for the post of Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held on  Tuesday. 

Speaking to PTI, DM Patel said that Protem speaker and senior-most BJP MLA Yogesh Patel will administer the oath to the 182 MLAs in the first session of the 15th Legislative Assembly in the state capital Gandhinagar on Monday, secretary of Gujarat Assembly. 

 The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which won the seventh consecutive term in the state with a landslide victory in recent elections, has declared Shankar Chaudhary and Jethabhai Bharwad as candidates for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker, respectively. 

The new entrants include 11 former ministers. The Cabinet ministers include Kanu Desai, Rishikesh Patel, Raghvji Patel, Balvantsinh Rajput, Kunvarji Bavaliya, Mulu Bera, Kuber Dindor, and Bhanuben Babariya. Harsh Sanghvi and Jagdish Vishwakarma were sworn in as ministers of state with independent charges. 

The six other ministers of the state include Parshottam Solanki, Bachu Khabad, Mukesh Patel, Praful Pansheriya, Kuverji Halpati and Bhikhusinh Parmar. 

Post a Comment